3.Indian Super League

Originated – 2013

Country – India

Number of teams – 10

Reigning Champion – Bengaluru FC

Most Successful team – ATK (Atlético de Kolkata), Chennaiyin FC (2 titles each)

Average Attendance – 2018-19: 14,304

The Indian Super League was established in 2013 which is governed by the All India Football Federation (AIFF). It is the top tier male football league in India along with the coexisting top tier I-League. The ISL was founded with an intention of establishing the popularity of football in India and the competition’s first season was organized in 2014 with 8 teams.

The Asian Football Confederation, the sanctioning body for the sport in Asia were unaware of the first three seasons of Indian Super League and they received their first official recognition before the season of 2017/18 and expanded the league structure from 8 to 10 franchises.

ATK achieved the first Indian Super League title in 2014 followed by another title in 2016. Tallying their two wins, the Chennaiyin also went on to win the title twice in 2015 and 2018. The current champions of the ISL are the Bengaluru FC who has lifted the title for the first time.


Originated – 2007

Country – India

Number of teams – 11

Most Successful team – Dempo (3 titles)

Reigning Champion – Chennai City

Average Attendance – 2018: 13,073

I League is the top football league in India, founded in 2007, is the successor to the National Football League (NFL). The inaugural season of the I-League featured 10 teams, 8 from the NFL campaign and 2 from the 2nd Division. I-League belongs to the top tier league in the Indian National Football System.

The system of promotion and relegation is being followed by the I-League with the 2nd Division I-League and the I-League champions get the opportunity to participate in Asia’s top international club competition, AFC Champions League. The club to have won the most title in the history of the league is Dempo, who won the title thrice alternatively in 2008, 2010, and 2012.

Since the commencement of the I-League in 2007, 7 clubs have won the title so far. Club Churchill Brothers and former I-League team Bengaluru stand as the second most title won teams with 2 wins. Clubs to have crowned as the winner at least once is Salgaocar, Mohun Bagan, Aizawl, Minerva Punjab, and the reigning league champions, Chennai City.