Teams with most La Liga participation

Statistics of the Spanish clubs that have participated over 50 times in the Primera División during the period 1929-2019.

Club    Participation

Real Madrid    88

Barcelona    88

Athletic Bilbao    88

Between the first season and season 2019-2020, in total 62 clubs has participating in top division of the Spanish league.


Capacity of La Liga stadiums

The table shows the capacity of the clubs participating in La Liga. Camp Nou, where Barcelona play since 1957, has the highest capacity with almost 100,000 seats. The average capacity in the league is 36,104.

Former La Liga clubs and stadiums: Girona, Montilivi (13,500); Huesca, El Alcoraz (7,638); Rayo Vallecano, Vallecas (14,708).

Players – Top goalscorers

The league’s all-time leading goalscorer is Lionel Messi who has (in October 2019) made 424 goals in Barcelona. Messi is also the only player to score 50 times during one season (it should be noticed that the numbers of games per season has shifted over times; as a comparison Telmo Zarra scored 38 times in the 1950-51 season when each team only played 30 games). 

On the second place among goalscorers is Cristiano Ronaldo who did 311 goals in Real Madrid in 292 appearances (a goal ratio record in the league).

Other notable goalscorer in the league are Hugo Sánches (234 goals for Real Madrid 1981-1994), Raúl (228 goals for Real Madrid 1994-2010), and Alfredo Di Stéfano (227 goals for Real Madrid 1953-1966).

Players with most appearances

The player with most appearances is the national team goalkeeper Andoni Zubizarreta. He played most of his career in FC Barcelona and in total he did 622 La Liga appearances. Next to him is the Real Madrid player Raúl with 550 matches.

1929 The league is established.

1934 The league is expanded to 12 clubs. 

1936 The 1936-37 season is cancelled due to the Spanish Civil War.

1939 The league is restored after the war.

1941 The league is expanded to 14 clubs. 

1950 The league is expanded to 16 clubs. 

1971 The league is expanded to 18 clubs. 

1987 The league is expanded to 20 clubs. 

1995 The league is expanded to 22 clubs. 

1995 From the 1995-96 season, wins are awarded three points instead of two. 

1997 The league is reduced to 20 clubs.